Writing Every Day

I’m not terribly religious, but I’ve always enjoyed the challenge of making a sacrifice or improvement on yourself for Lent. It has an end date, which makes it easier to fathom than a vague resolution, and frequently I’ve found it to be helpful to establish new habits or break old, bad ones. In college I gave up Facebook once, drinking another time. I failed epically at giving up swearing last year (guess I should have thought that one through!)

This year, I want to get back in the habit of writing on my blog. I write a lot. In my head, I’m a literary type. Writing is my way of figuring things out. I can get things on paper, come back to them the next day— was I being fair in how I saw a situation? Am I really making my case well? What is the best way to approach this? I often even just process information by writing (I rarely ever refer to the countless scribbles in my notebook.) I’ve started plenty of drafts for this blog, but I somehow never hit publish. There are a million things stopping me, but most of it boils down into insecurity which is unfounded and a little silly. So my goal these next 40 days is just to hit publish on something I’ve written every day.

This endeavor is heavily inspired by my friend Christian, who never seem to run out of things to say.

Leave a Reply

